Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Where are the Galapagos Islands Located?

The Galapagos Islands are located in the Eastern Pacific Ocean, 973 km (604 miles) off the west coast of South America. The closest land mass is the mainland of Ecuador to the east (the country to which they belong and should leave to get to the Galapagos Islands), to the North is Cocos Island 720 km (447 miles) and to the South is Easter Island and San Felix Island at 3200 km (1,990 miles).

The Galapagos Islands consist of six main islands: San Cristobal, Santa Cruz, Isabela, Floreana, Santiago and Fernandina these last two uninhabited, 12 smaller islands and the island Baltra uninhabited Santa Fe, Pinzón, Española, Rabida, Daphne, Seymour, Genovesa, Marchena, Pinta, Darwin and Wolf and over 40 islet. The islands have a population of 28,000 with exception of people who are temporarily working or visiting the islands. 

No comments:

Post a Comment